Four Letter Nerd

Magneto #2 Review

Screen Shot 2014-04-02 at 5.48.52 PM

Book: Magneto #2

Writer: Cullen Bunn
Artist: Gabriel Hernandez Walta
Colorist: Jordie Bellaire

Magneto002COV-102bd-ab93e

Summary from comixology:
Horrors from Magneto’s past inform his decisions in the present as he hunts down the source of the newest threat to mutantkind. Meanwhile, S.H.I.E.L.D. catches a glimpse of Magneto’s new band of followers…

 

The first issue of Magneto I wasn’t completely sold on. I wrote a mediocre review for it, but decided not to publish the review because it’s hard to REALLY sell an entire series on the first issue. Today the second issue came out and my God, it was beautiful. I never thought I would say a story about a villain would be this beautifully well done. Everything from the drawings, to the colors, to the story was really something special.

Screen Shot 2014-04-02 at 5.35.28 PM

 

 

            The Good

 

I want to start by saying how Cullen Bunn really hit this issue out of the park. It’s been a while since I have really felt this much suspense and intensity in a single issue. The story picks up with the aftermath of the events unleashed in #1, but it also does flashbacks to Warsaw in 1942 of a young (Jewish) Magneto running through Nazi Occupied Poland and some intense moments with some Nazis. I believe that Bunn is one of the best storytellers for such a dark and tormented character such as Magneto.

 

Screen Shot 2014-04-02 at 5.37.42 PM

The story is a little violent.

The Bad

 

Now it is time for my problem with the book, and it has nothing to do with the art of the story. My problem is with censorship. Sure that doesn’t sound like a major issue, but this comic is a “Parental Advisory” title, so for that reason there should be no censorship. In MAGNETO #2, someone is executed, nails are forced into people’s skulls, and at one time someone has nails pierce his palm and proceed into his face as he shields himself. THIS IS A GRAPHIC BOOK, but at one time someone says to Magneto, “Who the @#$% are you?” and after all the violence we witnessed, the word “fuck” is what the editors decide to censor. Well, I think that is a @#$%ing joke.

 

Screen Shot 2014-04-02 at 5.36.17 PM

@#$% censorship.

 

The Verdict

 

This was easily the best book of the week. I am super excited to see where this story will continue going. I love the graphic all out war that Magneto is declaring on all who do wrong for the mutant cause. It’s neat to see a martyr for the Mutant community, and its even better that it’s my favorite villain in the Marvel Universe. Go get this book! It’s a must read for any fan of the X-Men or someone who just wants a good anti-hero book! This is a solid, and my first 4 out of 4. Seriously, you want to read this book.

 

About author View all posts

Bill Clark

26 CommentsLeave a comment

  • Damn it, Bill!

    I had the same feelings for issue #1 as you did, and skipped this ish because of it. Now I have to buy this next week. 🙂

    Awesome review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *